Chelsea Rose

 

Where were you born? Year, Country, State. Where do you live currently?

 

I was born in Santa Monica CA in 1987 and grew up in Venice Beach CA. I currently live in Portland Oregon.

 

What initially drew you to drawing pretty pictures?

 

Growing up on the boardwalk of Venice Beach, California I was immersed in an eclectic network of folk and outsider artists  and so I was constantly exposed to the process of creation. I was always being given "hand me down" art supplies and learned to work with a large verity of mediums at a young age. Around my seventh year of life I got  involved with the Venice Arts Mecca, a community based art program for local underrepresented youth which greatly expanded my interest and artistic abilities while focusing mainly on painting and photography.

 

 

Who is your favorite skateboarder, living or dead? Any ties to skateboarding?

 

My fave skateboarder is Patti McGee      (1965 Women's First National Women's Skateboard Champion, SantaMonica) I think she was such a strange blend of 60s culture and marketing. I think its interesting how she ended up being the female harbinger of skateboarding, which many thought to be a "fad" but became a way of life and still is to this day.

As a young girl my love and enjoyment of skateboarding came only second to my love and enjoyment of making art. Growing up in Dog Town certainly rubbed off on me. I still harbor fond memories of skateboarding with friends in the now extinct Graffiti Pitt.

 

 

 

 

Who is your favorite artist, living or dead?

 

My favorite artists include Mark Ryden, Brian Froud, Frida Kahlo, Marc Chagall and Man Ray

 

 

When you're not creating amazing works of art, what do you enjoy doing?

 

Drinking tea, writing, reading, exploring the woods and the coast, eating sushi and cheesecake...

 

Who are your biggest influences?

 

I am greatly influenced and inspired by ancient lore, mystical creatures, the sacred feminine, warrior women, metaphysical and paranormal theory.

 

 

What mediums do you enjoy working in?

 

My fave mediums to work in would be pen and ink, acrylic paint, body paint and photography

 

 

Anything else you want to tell?

 

Find me online at ChelseaRoseArts.com I keep a detailed blog about my works in progress.